And so it begins…

“Although no one can go back and make a brand new start, anyone can start from now and make a brand new ending.” 
― Carl Bard

Many, many welcomes to my newest endeavor!  After much thought, I decided that having a way to chronicle my health journey would be inspiring for myself and maybe for someone else.  The change in my health has been a long time coming.  So where to begin…..well…how about the beginning!

My entire life I have heard these dreadful magic words “Oh you have such a pretty face…”  which for those who struggle with health and weight know that is code for “You are pretty BUT you’re heavy”.  This literally was the story of my life.  I will say that I have always had a healthy dose of self esteem.  I have never in my life felt less than pretty or perfect for that matter.  And while we all struggle with some sort of body issue growing up, my mother did an amazing job of making sure her kids felt freaking amazing!

Fast Forward to the Married Life – I tell you there is some magic weight gaining powder in those diamonds!  It’s like once that ring gets slipped on your finger it’s a free for all to relax things that used to be held right and tight 🙂  Over the course of our first 3 years of marriage we ate out ALOT…I mean literally of 7 dinners, we ate out 3-4 of them for a few reasons 1.  We didn’t want to cook 2.  We had ZERO kids so we didn’t have to cook and 3.  Did I mention we didn’t want to cook?  And then I got pregnant with our first child and well…I gave birth and then I was a sleep-deprived, breastfeeding, exhausted parent for the first  year and half of our daughters life so health fell by the wayside.

The Revelation – On July 18, 2012, 12 days before my 31st birthday, I went to the doctor for an allergic reaction to a bug bite.  The doctor of course treated the allergic reaction and then she simply said “What do you plan to do about your health?  Do you want diabetes, heart disease…blah…blah…blah…”  In short she laid all my stuff bare and I left there with my confidence in my pocket and reality slapping me all in the face.  So I made a conscious decision that day that I had to get better…in order to do that I had to do better.

Ready, Set, Go!!!  – So that is where it all began!  I initially started with calorie counting and a commitment to workout no less than 4 days per week for an hour.   I’ll explain the specifics in the next few posts!

I hope that my walk into the health side is an inspiration for someone!

Til Next Time!

Ro

 

One thought on “And so it begins…

Leave a Reply

