MFP = My Fitness Pal and other things….

When I started this journey all I read was watch your calories and workout more.  The working out part wasn’t so difficult but counting the calories was a new adjustment.  I had downloaded the MyFitnessPal App when it first came out but used it so sporadically that it really didn’t make a difference at all. I made a commitment to use it every single day, logging every piece of food that went in my mouth which held me super accountable for the food I ate.  And let me tell you this….I was shocked at how many calories I was really eating.  I literally was eating somewhere around 2100-2500 calories a day and I am pretty certain that a lot of that was the sweet tea!  

One of the great things about MFP is that it suggests calorie consumption based on the amount of weight you want to lose.  It also tailors out for your carb, fat, and protein intake so that you can see directly where you are lacking or overdoing it in an area.  Using the formula I found here I was able to figure out that my body burns about 2100 calories a day without me doing anything.  So technically as long as I worked out I could create a calorie deficit meaning my body burned more calories than I ate resulting in weight loss.  But remember that wasn’t actually my overall goal.  My goal was to get healthy.  

Initially I set my calorie intake to 1500 calories a day with a commitment to working out 4 times per week for no less than an hour.  That typically consisted of at least 45 minutes of cardio to start.  I steered away from the weights because I didn’t want to bulk up and quite frankly I was sort of intimidated as a gym newbie who weighed quite a bit.  In the beginning I used measuring spoons to measure out portions.  That in and of itself was an eye-opener.  I realized that I was easily eating 2-4 portions of seemingly small amounts of snacks that added up to a whole lot of calories.  Over the course of the last 10 months, whenever I have slacked off on using MFP, my weight has stalled.  I will freely admit that I sometimes I am not a good judge of portion sizes and may overdue it.  MFP keeps me on track….well that an my trusty measuring spoons when need be.  

My overall health goals for this week are: 

  • Down water like a guppiefish drinking no less than 70 ounces a day.  
  • Workout no less than 4 times this week – minimum 45 minutes cardio each session and various weight lifting in between. 
  • Eat out no more than 2 times the entire week (This is gonna be hard since this is a crazy time right now in our house!) 

Til the Next Time! 

Ro 

Leave a Reply

