The Scale is the Devil!!!!

Hola readers!

It has been rather busy around our house as of late.  Lady S turned three a few weeks ago so we have been mourning the fact that we no longer have a toddler but now have a preschooler!  Where in the world did the time go?  I vaguely remember this boss lady being totally dependent upon me and now she is trying her best to open up the fridge and get her OWN drink.  *insert baby fever here*  She has become quite the opinionated young girl who has zero problems telling us what she wants, how she wants it, and why she needs it! *insert fleeting baby fever here*.  With that, the last two weeks have been a flurry of touring preschools for her and deciding on one.  She officially starts preschool next month and while I am happy, I am also quite sad.  Mr. S hasn’t decided if he’s happy or sad yet but we’ll see the first day we walk her in the center.

On to health updates…

The summer has been especially interesting with our health journey.  While we have not had many cookouts to attend, being at home all day long leaves a lot of room for foodie sins.  Thankfully we have only committed a few…well maybe more than that but not too many.

In the beginning of my health journey I loved the scale more than anything.  I weighed every single morning taking note of any changes in the scale and it literally determined how hard I worked out and how often.  While my focus was on overall health, I would be a liar if I said scale movement was not a big motivator in the beginning.  One thing to take note is that the more weight you lose, the harder it is to actually lose it.  I’ve gone through a few periods of phases where I go into a plateau meaning my body won’t release fat until I either 1) workout more or 2) create more of a caloric deficit.  My most recent plateau happened at 80ish pounds and I stayed there for weeks!  It drove me insane.  Finally after a few weeks I started to lose again and this is where the scale comes in…..

My advice is to stay away from the scale!!!!  It can completely derail your health journey and it can create some unhealthy habits in your eating and workout choices.  At last check 3ish weeks ago, I had lost 86 pounds.  I am completely unsure of how many additional pounds I have lost because I stopped weighing myself.  *gasp*  Yep I sure did.  At this point in my journey I fully accept that my weight loss will be a tad bit slower because of how much I have lost.  I am also embracing weightlifting into my health journey.  I am finding so much satisfaction by looking in the mirror and seeing definition in my arms and thighs, and watching my mommy tummy slowly disappear.

Lastly I finally ordered a heart rate monitor to help me track my workouts better.  Now the consensus on these are up in the air.  Some people swear by them and others find them unnecessary.  For a long time I thought the later because I have been doing just fine.  Because I am switching the focus of my workouts, I think it’s important to keep a more accurate picture of my workouts.

I ordered this one

Now the very, very last piece…I ordered a box of healthy snacks from NatureBox and am waiting on them to arrive.  A wonderful blog written by a really smart lady, Houseful of Nicholes, blogged about the service here.  She totally prompted me to try them out so I can’t wait!  I’ll let you know how they are!

Til the Next Post!

Ro

Leave a Reply

