Skinny Bitches?!?!

What a ridiculous title for this post right?! It gave me a chuckle when I was typing it. I try to keep my blog fairly PC but I couldn’t think of another way to title this one.

It’s the end of summer and I am SO freaking sad! It makes me want to fall down into fits of madness and cry. Sort of like this….

The positive side of going back to work is that I will be back on my regularly scheduled eating…breakfast, snack, lunch, snack, dinner and then working out! I wish that I had the dedication to workout first thing in the morning like some people but I just can’t do it. No way and no how! If being a parent has taught me only one thing it is that sleep is probably the most important thing in the world! It’s my time to put the cares of the world aside and for my body to repair itself after a long workday.

So on to the guts of the posts! Over the course of the last year I have heard so many things regarding my health journey. The majority of it positive and some of it tinged with haterade (google it!). As my weight loss becomes more noticeable, I get a lot of comments and a ton of questions from people who want to start their own journey, people who have already started, and people who will never start. The word SKINNY is something I hear often and every time I hear it I get a little bit more confused about what skinny actually is. Does that imply that I was a fat OR phat before (cause I definitely was)? Does that mean that since I don’t have a pudgy face anymore that I look better? I really am not sure. One thing that I know is that I simply can’t get used to hearing people say it.

The word skinny, to me at least, carries neither positive or negative connotations. Words like skinny, fat, thick, chunky, bony….they all can empower people and destroy them at the same time. Calling someone fat could be just as harmful as calling a naturally thin person bony.

If I’ve learned nothing else along the way it is that words can empower or harm people and that everyone is fighting their own health battles whether they’re underweight, “ideal” weight, or overweight. Personally I think everyone who compliments me is beautiful. It will take awhile to get used to all the positivity but I’m bracing it! One day at a time!

Happy Sunday all!
Ro

Leave a Reply

