Back into School and Menu Planning!

Greetings Readers and Happy Weekend!  It’s been such a busy week in our household.  Lady S started preschool and she is loving it quite a bit!  Mister S is now a full-time college student and I am very proud of him.  He’s working quite diligently towards his ultimate goal.  I am back to school full-time and students report on Monday.  I am praying and hoping and wishing for a great year and I think I just might get it.  Only time will tell!

In the foodie sins world, I ate out A LOT this week!  It was the first week back with my coworkers and some best friends and that meant lunch out and lots of girl chitterchat time!  I needed it that is for sure!  I did fairly well making sensible choices out except for that one day….the chicken philly and house chips were entirely too good to pass up so I indulged!  I most surely did and I do not feel bad about it all!

The hardest parts of returning to work full-time are making good, yet quick and healthy dinners, and finding time to workout among all of the other crazy things that I have to do on a daily basis.   The workout part I have handled!  I’ve been a member of Planet Fitness for over a year now but I haven’t been in over 2 weeks.  Quite honestly I have just been burned out from the gym and bored with it.  As a matter of fact I cancelled my membership *gasp*.   I can’t justify the cost when I barely go.  I am still rocking out pretty hard doing Melissa Bender workouts 4 to 5 days per week.  Apparently they are working really well because in 5 weeks I’ve blasted an inch off my waist and my hips!  Yay me!

Now on to eating!  I will be very honest in saying there are days I come home from work and could really care less about cooking.  In the old days I would have just stopped by Showmars and picked up some food and kept it moving.  To avoid these types of pitfalls, I menu plan.  I know what you’re thinking….”Is she cooking for 8 hours on the weekend and freezing all these meals?”  Well NO I am not!  I don’t have the stamina or desire to do that.  I’ve tried it in the past and Mister S was adamant he was done with crock pot meals!

On Saturdays I sit down, sometimes with Mister S, and we decide what we want to eat for the entire week.  We leave off Fridays because that is our guaranteed, designated eat out meal for the week.  I still use the crock pot, especially during the winter or when the recipe allows it, but overall either I cook or Mister S cooks.  To give you an idea of what this looks like, our menu for the next two weeks is below.

Breakfast –>  We alternate between yogurt and granola, CLIF or Luna Bars, turkey bacon and eggs, or breakfast sandwiches

Lunch –>  We eat leftovers from the previous night’s dinner so this is pretty easy to navigate.

Dinner –>  

Week of 8/25

  • Sunday – BBQ Ribs with Mac N Cheese and Corn (Not all that healthy BUT really good)
  • Monday – Beef Stir Fry with Jasmine Rice
  • Tuesday – Tilapia with homemade hushpuppies and fries
  • Wednesday – Spaghetti with Salad and Garlic Toast
  • Thursday – Cuban Steak sandwiches
  • Friday – EAT OUT
  • Saturday – Homemade Pizza with Breadsticks

Week of 9/1

  • Sunday – Chicken wings with broccoli and cheese and couscous
  • Monday – Homemade burgers with fries and baked beans
  • Tuesday – Grilled Chicken with Tomato Alfredo
  • Wednesday – Pork Tenderloin with broc/cheese orzo
  • Thursday – Cheeseburger Casserole
  • Friday – EAT OUT
  • Saturday – Baked Potato Bar

I got hungry just typing all of that for the next two weeks!  I told you at heart I am a foodie girl!  You’ll also notice that we don’t eat salads every single day and we don’t bake everything either.  We pretty much eat many of the same foods we ate before, we just eat WAY less of it.

Speaking of good eating, Mister S is in the kitchen making homemade chicken nuggets so I am off for a wonderful Saturday night dinner!

Toodles!

Ro

Leave a Reply

