Why didn’t you eat breakfast this morning?

Good Morning readers!  It has been awhile since I last graced this blog.  My life has been really busy and we have been off and on sick in our home for awhile.  Couple that with the busiest time of the year at work and it’s been really crazy!  With all of that and a sprinkle of school work for Mister S, we have had our hands full.  *insert violin playing here*

OK so that leads me to something  I have talked about before…menu planning.  I met so many people who don’t eat breakfast.  Is that you?  Are you hanging your head down in shame?  Well if you didn’t eat something this morning, you should be!  I kid I kid!  No judgment but seriously let’s have an honest conversation.

On a typical morning Mister S and I are up no later than 5:30.  We both have to be at work around 7:30-7:40 each morning.  Add a rambunctious toddler to the mix who likes to streak in the mornings or is grumpy, everyone having to take their vitamins, getting coffee ready, and breakfast served, you are talking about one busy house.  It would be so easy to just buy some PopTarts and pass them out in the morning, but have you ever eaten a PopTart?  I know you have because I used to eat them all the time.  Now fast forward 2 hours from eating 2 of them and you might find yourself at the snack machine at work eating a Honey Bun because you are legitimately hungry.  I don’t blame you.  No judgment from me.  But do you see a trend?  Maybe?

It is so easy to get bogged down with the busyness of each morning and do something convenient that is not always healthy.  I like PopTarts.  I don’t like the artificial food dyes and additives in them.  Is that real fruit on the inside or just sugar?  My guess is sugar.  But I do have a confession…my kid, Lady S, eats a PopTart every morning.  But not the kind in the regular grocery store.  Yes we make the trek to Trader Joe’s to buy the organic, fruit filled ones.  Do they cost more?  $2.49 for 6 of them but they are made with the good stuff that I feel good about.  Do they keep you fuller longer?  Yep.  That might have something to do with the fact they are made with real stuff.

The two words of the day is menu plan!  Plan those menus folks.  We strive hard to incorporate a protein, a grain, and dairy into each of our breakfasts.  For Lady S, we throw in some fruit as well.  Start the day off with a balanced breakfast.  For example, breakfast sandwiches are super easy to make and can be customized to what you like.  Mister S likes eggs.  I have an intolerance to them and they make me sick to my stomach.  On average we make 12 sandwiches every two weeks.  With English muffins, sausage, and organic eggs we spend about $7 for all those sandwiches.  They keep us full until mid morning snack and I know what is in them.   (Is that really sausage at McDonald’s?)

If you want to know how to make them feel free to leave a comment or search Pinterest for recipes!  They are super easy and super quick.

Now go eat breakfast!

Ro

Leave a Reply

