Eat More to Lose More? The ugly truth

At last update I had lost 100 lbs and so had Mister S!  When you hear people say that it is a lifestyle change, they are absolutely telling the truth.  It is unreal the amount of fruit and veggies we buy in our weekly grocery run.  But alas!  That is a good thing.  We are incorporating more veggies and fruits in our diets everyday.  Instead of chips at work, Mister S defaults to the produce department and eats apples, bananas, citrus fruits, and peanut butter.  What a difference this is from where we were when we first started this journey.  Unfortunately, there is a downside to all of this.

My weight loss has stalled!

Many people hit the dreaded plateau during their weightloss journeys.  I haven’t met one person who hasn’t.  It is simply the most frustrating time of everyone’s experience.  The scale doesn’t move.  The inches won’t come off.  You just aren’t sure what to do to get the scale moving in the right direction again.  I remember going through this at 30 lbs, 45 lbs, and 60 lbs lost.  I remember being just as frustrated then as I am now!

So how does one break the plateau?  This is such a complicated question to answer.  When the body hits a plateau that means your body is used to what you’ve been doing and it is holding onto fat in order to function.  This can happen when your caloric deficit is too high or when you are overdoing it by working out or you simply aren’t eating enough food.  

In my case my caloric deficit was too high meaning two things.  1.  I wasn’t eating enough and 2.  I was working out too much.  *sigh* So how am I fixing this….Well it is much more simple than I had made it out to be.  I have increased how much I am eating, on average eating between 1700-1900 calories a day and working out every other day as opposed to 5/6 times per week.  I am also eating back some of my calories burned working out.  I feel better physically and mentally so it is working.  Beyond that, the scale is moving downward again so it was the right thing for me to do!

Don’t get discouraged if you find yourself in a plateau.  It happens to everyone at some point.  You just have to figure out how to break out of it and keep trucking right on!

Ro

Leave a Reply

