YouTube workouts. Go get you some :)

The summer is coming to a close for me.  In three short weeks I will be back at work fulltime, Lady S will be starting preschool, and Mister S will be working fulltime AND going to school fulltime!  It’s going to be busy here in our house to say the least.  I’ve got my charts printed out already so that I can start menu planning for the month of September!  I have to admit I am ready to get back into the chaos that is our lives during the school year.  Anyone who knows a teacher knows we don’t really take the summer off.  We just do a little less!

I am on the tail-end of a 30 day challenge that BodyRockTV has hosted on YouTube.  It’s called Transformer and you can find it here.  It has been tough to say the least.  Since taking a hiatus from Planet Fitness, I have been working out solely at home.  Driving to the gym was just too time consuming and I really feel like I get a better workout at home.   The other upside is that Lady S will do her jumping jacks and burpees and jump rope with me!

A lot of people will ask me what I actually do while working out.  It would take at least an hour to name it all, but I try to do exercises that incorporate working all my muscle groups.  If I am going to spend 30-45 minutes of my life working out, then I plan on getting as much in as a I can.  There are a few channels on YouTube that I follow religiously.  I find workouts that I like and do those.  There really is no science to it.  If my shoulders are tight, I’ll focus on lower body and core work and vice versa.

My disclaimer is simple:

  1. Know your limitations.
  2. Practice good form.
  3. Ease yourself into the workouts if you haven’t worked out in a long time.
  4. Take breaks as needed.
  5. Stay hydrated.

Some of my favorites are:

  • Melissa Bender –>  Beginner to Intermediate Levels.   Most workouts are 15-25 minutes in length and incorporate cardio and strength training.  She also has some yoga exercises as well.
  • Fitness Blender –>  Beginner to Advanced Levels.  Workouts include cardio only, strength, yoga, Crossfit style, and weighted workouts.  Each workout typically includes a warm-up and cool-down helping you to avoid injury.  They also have meal plans and workout plans if you want to really step up your game.
  • BodyRock –>  Intermediate to Advanced Levels.  Most workouts are fairly difficult and require equipment including dumbbells, bars, or other materials.  You can easily adapt the workouts to your level, but may have a hard time with the equipment piece.  I would not recommend starting with these workouts if you haven’t been physical in awhile.  Unless you like torture.  Then in that case, be my guest 😉
  • XHIT Daily –> Beginner to Intermediate Levels.  Short and sweet workouts primarily focused on women.  I haven’t found any of these to be especially hard but they do make you feel the burn.

Have you tried any of these workouts from the channels?  Do you feel like workouts are better in the gym or at home?

Leave a Reply

