Sickness Sucks! Listening to your body…

Ah!!!! I’m sick. Down for the count. In bed looking a mess. I feel like poo and look like it too! It’s been days since I had a good run or workout and I am really hating it right now. I’ll spare you all the grimy details, but let’s just say that jumping up and down would not be in my best interest today!

There have been a few times that I’ve been down for the count with working out. There have been a few times when I stupidly drudged through a workout only to feel like a train wreck afterwards. It’s that blind optimism that all I needed to do was sweat it out and then I’d feel better. Or a little light cardio *no such thing* would be alright. I learned my lesson a long time ago to rest when it’s needed.

There are people reading this who might think that working out all the time is going to get you there faster. Or working out when your body is telling you not to, is a good idea. Well….I am here to tell you it’s not.

If you find yourself not feeling that great or your muscles are hurting to the point of pain, it will not derail your journey to rest a bit. Your body needs those rest days to repair itself and to have the opportunity to build muscles. The last thing anyone wants is to not feel your best and risk injury on top if that? It’s simply not worth it.

So what am I doing today? Lying in bed relinquishing all parenting duties to Mister S. Drinking lots of water and sleeping. The workouts can wait šŸ˜‰. My body will thank me later.

Leave a Reply

