Coffee Drinkers…yes you…come here!

I’m addicted to coffee. All kinds of it. Light, dark, medium, flavored, organic…I don’t care as long as it’s coffee! Until I’ve had my cup of joe in the morning, it’s best to not ask me multi step questions or those you want serious answers to! I simply can’t think straight! It’s one of the main reasons I avoid morning meetings at all costs.

With the coffee comes my obsession with creamer. My amazing grandfather Dupe used to drink it straight black. No sugar or cream! I’ve tried that and it didn’t fair well. I guess you could say I like mine diluted a little bit. In the eight million eight years Mister S and I have been married, I’ve converted him over to the dark side as well. Sometimes I let Lady S smell the coffee beans since it helps the airways for asthmatics. Win win for everyone!

We probably used 2-3 quarts of creamer a month. I used to just turn that creamer bottle upside down and let it rip. And the 2-3 tablespoons of sugar. I can’t even imagine the calories. Well actually I can and I am sure it was somewhere around 150-200 a cup just in creamer and sugar. Bad I know cause the creamer has sugar in it too!

That all had to change of course. I replaced the sugar with Splenda and then decided I didn’t like that either so now I use stevia and I quite like it. The creamer is a different story though. We still use it although it’s limited to 2 tablespoons. Problem is, as I get more conscious about what goes in our bodies, I couldn’t reconcile those chemicals in the creamer. I know what you’re saying because I’ve said it too!

It’s only a little bit!

The flavors are so good!

There’s chemicals in everything!

That led me to Pinterest to find an alternative. I don’t like almond milk as a creamer so that was out. I have to be in the mood to use half and half or milk as a creamer. I like flavors. What can I say! Pinterest has tons of homemade, easy recipes to use for creamer so I decided to give one a try. The recipe is simple and it gave my coffee the right amount of sweetness and creaminess.

20140804-193023-70223619.jpg

Base Recipe for coffee creamer

Ingredients
1-2 cups of milk – you can use whole, reduced fat, almond milk, or soy milk
1 can of sweetened condensed milk
Pure extracts of any flavors you like – vanilla and almond are popular

Directions
In an airtight jar (Mason is good to use here) combine the milk and sweetened condensed milk. Add teaspoon of extract. Seal tightly and shake vigorously until well combined. Pour into coffee. Savor the flavor. Go out and be nice to people!

I found this to be a great alternative to store brought creamer. The only downside is you must remember the expiration date of your milk. Also using 2 cups of milk/almond milk/soy milk will make about 3 cups of creamer when it is all combined. Keep this in mind as well.

Now go forth on Pinterest and find all the flavor combinations you can make!

Leave a Reply

