Working out….How long? How often?

I am often asked how often I work out and how long I work out for. Back in the beginning of my journey, I could easily rattle off something like “everyday other day for an hour…”. That has definitely changed. With my focus ever evolving, my workouts have evolved as well. Gone are the endless minutes of cardio workouts where I would have to eat a snack afterwards because I burned so many calories. Gone are the days of numb, jelly legs because I had done an hour on the elliptical machine. While I needed to be locked into a set schedule in the beginning because it had been so long without working out, at this point I don’t need a schedule that is so stringent.

But don’t get confused by my last sentence.  I do have to keep up with working out for my health.  Most people find that once physical exercise becomes part of their health journey, they get hooked to it.  If I go more than two days without some sort of sweat inducing physical activity, my mood shifts.  Bless Mister S’s heart, he knows exactly when to say….”Let’s take a walk this evening” or he will ask with the best intentions “Are you working out today?”  I find working out to be not only a great physical challenge but it clears my mind.  As a teacher, there are so many issues that I carry home in my mind that I need that time to just release it all so to speak.

So on to the questions at hand.  My general disclaimer is that every person is individual and so is their journey.  For some people, working out is every single day.  For others it is a few times a week.  It all depends on how fit you are and what you can physically endure.  For example, as a working mother, I have to budget every single minute of my day so that all the people who need me in the course of 24 hours gets what they need and more importantly that I get what I need.   Part of who I am now is greatly defined by how I feel physically.

As a general rule, a person should workout about 2.5 hours per week of moderate activity or about 30 minutes per day for 5 days.  It seems like A LOT of working out, but once you get into the habit of it, you’ll find that it goes by rather quickly.  Now, do I workout 5 days a week?  Absolutely not.  I simply don’t have the time.  Instead, I shoot for 4 days per week for about 45 minutes each.  Some days less and some days more.

I will say the key to working out and doing it so that you get the most benefit is to switch up your routines.  If you stick with the same thing over and over, you won’t see the results you want to see!  Use those weights ladies!  You will not end up looking like The Rock or Vin Diesel.  Take a run/jog/walk one day.  Complete a HIIT workout another day. Variety is the spice of life as they say and it definitely applies to working out!

Ro

Leave a Reply

